Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Pick mine up tomorrow 4 weeks not bad. What are the oil change intervals- miles or metric?

·
Registered
91 Posts
Pick mine up tomorrow 4 weeks not bad. What are the oil change intervals- miles or metric?
You can find the recommended oil change intervals in the owner's manual

It really all depends on the type of driving that you do. I am a chemist (I guess you would have never guessed that by my screen name & avatar:mellow:). I used to manage a lab for a local Caterpillar dealer analyzing oil and coolant.

The thing that you have to remember is that as the engine runs it create wear metals which are suspended in the oil. The larger stuff is caught by the oil filter, but the smaller wear metal particles are suspended in the oil and are abrasive.

The longer the oil remains in the engine, the more abrasive wear will take place. Byproducts of combustion will also be in the oil. Water can be present in oil through condensation (taking short trips without the engine having a chance to warm up enough to drive off the water) and combustion. Gasoline contains small amounts of sulfer. Sulfer can combine with water to make H2SO4 or sulfuric acid. We all know what acid can do to metal!

I am not a big fan of synthetic oil. Sure, the oil will last longer than conventional oil, but it entices people to extend oil drain intervals. Now you have great oil contaminated with wear metals that can abraissively shorten engine life.

I could go on here for hours, but the point I am trying to make is that oil is cheap, a new engine is not. Change the oil frequently to prevent wear. Change at the recommended time interval, if you have not exceeded the recommended mileage.