Hyundai Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I'm new to Sonata ownership and have recently joined this forum. I love my Hyundai after 6 months of ownership.

I purchased the Sonata with 38K miles and noticed immediately that two of the tires would need replaced soon. The other two tires have plenty of tread life but are a brand that I am not familiar with (Fuzion VRi). Given that I need to replace at least two tires, I have a few options to consider. Should I just replace the two worn tires with two new Fuzion Vri tires (they've driven OK so far but I don't have a lot of experience with them yet)? Or, should I replace all four tires with a more familiar brand of tires (e.g. Continental ExtremeContact DWS - have heard great things about these tires online)? I know the Fuzion tires will be cheaper ($90ish per tire vs. $120ish per tire for Continental) but the promise of higher performance ratings (per online reviews) and a 50K mile tread warranty with the Contis is tempting. It basically comes down to a cheaper short term investment in what seems to be a decent tire (Fuzion) vs. a more expensive, longer term investment in a familiar brand of tires that might last longer (Continental). Any thoughts?

A few more tire-related questions while I'm at it :grin: :grin:

Are there any negative aspects to mounting two new tires with slightly used tires (as I would have to do in buying just the 2 Fuzion tires)?

Does anyone have long term experience with either the Fuzion Vri tires and/or the Continental ExtremeContact DWS tires?

Thanks in advance for any feedback!

AP_34

·
Registered
587 Posts
Fuzion tires are made by Bridgestone. If you are happy with the two on the car now and they are fairly new I might be inclined to get a pair of the matching tires and go with that until they are due to be replaced. Then you can get a complete set of whatever you want.