Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Should I drive my Elantra with a bad ocv valve? I broke the electrical connection off of the valve on the engine i just dropped in and REALLY need to drive it (only mode of trans). Im not too sure. I ran it a little bit already and hope to find a junked engine tomorrow but Ineed to drive it about 40 miles to get it home. I am a newbie here and to Hyundais in general. Thanks

·
Registered
17,552 Posts
You can drive the car... PCM will see open circuit and set code for the electrical concern, may or may not set code for timing, asn the valve is open circuit..

Part will cost approx $175 + labor (replace and clear code)...

Just had 1 last week,,, code for timing issue, went to inspect valve, it was stuck in the head, and the solenoid section popped off the valve portion.. almost small catastrophe to get the valve sleeve out of head, but it finally came out. Use a tap to snag the sleeve, and DOT-3 to dissolve the oil sludge, finally pulled it out.

The oil control filter screen was clogged up too (poor oil change habits),,, cleaned the screen with a can of carb and DOT-3 to cut the sludge, re-assemble, and watch values in current data screen and they match, so it look like it be good.

Attachments

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply. I took one off of a Mitsubishi...it appears to be identical except for the connector. It has an an xtra slide on it. I modified it to fit...any problems anyone forsees? (I am just strapped for cash at the moment- like every one else.) Heres a pic of the one Ive pulled.[attachment=20055:eek:cv.JPG]

Attachments

·
Registered
5 Posts
I too cracked my 2005 Elantra OCV, while investigating O2 sensor errors. It's taken me longer than I expected to find a part number for this thing. This forum post is the closest thing I've found. Does anybody have a part number for this? :)