Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I picked up my brand new 2013 Elantra a few weeks ago (still have under 300km on it : ) ) and loving the car. I am in Ottawa so need to prepare for the winter and wondering what absolutely must do maintenance/prep work I need to do.

I AM putting on new winter tires.

Dealer says I don't need to change oil, washer fluid etc.

I've read about waxing new cars, but I am a complete newbie to both owning a car as well as owning a car in the winter...so appreciate if anyone has some advice on this.

Also, washing the car in the winter, some say do it, other say don't. I am a bit confused.

Any good websites, books folks recommend for new car ownership and some of these basic questions to be answered? I am slowly working myway through the owner manual.

thanks in advance,

·
Registered
171 Posts
I'd wash the car in the winter. I'm not sure about Ottawa, but in the gta, they use salt on the roads. Always good to clean off that salt. Always make sure you have an extra bottle of windshield washer fluid in the car. good to have in case you run out, while driving. just remember to buy another bottle, if you use the one in your trunk. I use way more fluid in the winter months. Other than that, just regular maintenance when needed.

Not a maintenance tip. If you have heated seats, use them. They'll warm you up faster than the heat from the vents.

·
22,788 Posts
I wash Ingrid by hand, even in winter months. As long as the temp on a weekend day doesn't drop below 45F, I'm in the driveway washing/rinsing. Only difference? I get warm water from the kitchen sink for my soap suds. Keeps my hands warmer.

Get yourself a good Carnuba-based wax and spend some time polishing her up in preparation for the winter onslaught.