Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have never replaced my brakes. my sonata is 2013. drives fine. I just don't know how much longer I can go without ever replacing them. I have 110k miles on it. Yeah yeah I know. I'm a good driver and never stomp on the pedal and I never burn my pads. I am a slow breaker. is 29.99 good for an inspection at dealershiP??? seems like a rip off. Again, I see my brakes are fine, just wanna make sure.

·
Registered
222 Posts
So I have never replaced my brakes. my sonata is 2013. drives fine. I just don't know how much longer I can go without ever replacing them. I have 110k miles on it. Yeah yeah I know. I'm a good driver and never stomp on the pedal and I never burn my pads. I am a slow breaker. is 29.99 good for an inspection at dealershiP??? seems like a rip off. Again, I see my brakes are fine, just wanna make sure.
its a rip off.

you can typically look inside through the wheel spokes with a flashlight to see how thin/thick the pads are.

I usually have the tech tell me when I get my oil changes done at an independent shop since they already have the vehicle on the lift. Paying $30 to the dealership for them to only tell you doesn't make sense to me.

typically once the pad material wears too thin you'll hear squealing noises, a sign that its time to replace them. I would get them changed right around now considering your mileage. I also recommend changing the rotors too. I made the mistake of changing my front pads only and I started getting awful noises when braking later on. So I had to replace the pads + rotors again so that they wear together. OEM brake pads are about $70 on amazon. Rotors you can find on RockAuto. I did not buy OEM's, I spent I think $90 total on pads + rotors from RockAuto

·
Registered
804 Posts