Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I own 2012 Accent 1.6. is this a BOV? if so can it be replaced with a turbo BOV that makes a sound like "Tsss"!?

if its possible then please provide me with links where to buy these kinda BOV cause im not able to find one that fits my car.

thanks in advance :smile:

Attachments

·
Registered
245 Posts
I think you need pressurized air to dump in order to make the sound, and our naturally aspirated engines just don't have it. I think you need pressurized air just to open the valve as well. You need a pressure differential, from one side of the valve to the other, which won't exist absent a turbo or supercharger. So even though I'm not a mechanic I am feeling pretty confident in saying No it won't work. It could be that I am just revealing my ignorance of how all this stuff works, but I feel pretty safe.

There is a turbo version of our engine, as used in the Veloster turbo, but you'd need to source one from a wrecking yard. The plumbing on that could probably be modified to make all the cool sounds.

If anyone knows different I'm ready to learn - although I'm not interested in making my engine hiss or toot.

·
Registered
2,100 Posts
we used to call this rice. is that term still used? but a blowoff is nothing compared to a dump tube. that sucker is LOUD. when i had the vr4 with a bunch of other vr4 owners, a couple had dump tubes. i swear, when the dump tube opened up, people would soil themselves.

·
Registered
38 Posts
I had one pretty loud BOV on my 2003 elantra GT-T, scared some old ladies that were taking a walk when I shift into second gear. I felt sorry for them as it was not my intent to scare people with it.

·
Registered
245 Posts