Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been driving my 2012 elantra for 3 years now, and the average mpg (on the screen) fluctuates anywhere from 18 to 25 during any given trip (I don't take long trips - after 3 years I only have 14,000 miles on the car). I rarely drive on highways, so I'd expect the average mpg to be in the lower range -- but my lease is up and I'm trying to figure out if this is just a gas guzzler or if there's some malfunction of this tool, or if it's something inherent in the way I'm driving. Any ideas?

·
Registered
543 Posts
You would have to do it the old fashioned way.

Miles Driven/Gallons used(at fill up)

·
Banned
1,196 Posts
I've been driving my 2012 elantra for 3 years now, and the average mpg (on the screen) fluctuates anywhere from 18 to 25 during any given trip (I don't take long trips - after 3 years I only have 14,000 miles on the car).Any ideas?
Changes in temperature due to weather, & season, have great effects on mpg. Of course, snow makes a lot of difference, but rainfall will make differences too. Differing tire pressures cause mpg changes, so check to make sure your tires are at the pressures you want. If no snow or rainfall, I tend to keep my tires pumped higher than average to give me better mpg. Improper factory spark plug gaps cause poor mpg. This was a big issue on a Chevy Cruze website. You'll find many other reasons on this website. Running 10% ethanol blends, instead of 100% (ethanol-free) gasoline will lower mpg. Related to the different fuels, have been lots of reports of wrong & improper ethanol percentages in gasoline. As a present user of 100% gasoline, I have noted, not only an increase in my mpg, but my mpg tend to be more stable, compared to my previous use of 10%(not true?) ethanol blends.

·
Registered
5,883 Posts