Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 20 of 97 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased a 2020 Sonata and after a heavy rain the driver side rear door drains a large amount of water upon opening. None of the other doors do this, just wondering if anyone else had similar issues. Plan on taking it into the dealership the first day I'm able.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Sounds like a few cars have this problem. I remember people saying the new style Toyota Camry was doing the same thing.

I pick up my 2020 Sonata Limited this week. I will have to report back if we get any rain later on in the week.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sounds like a few cars have this problem. I remember people saying the new style Toyota Camry was doing the same thing.

I pick up my 2020 Sonata Limited this week. I will have to report back if we get any rain later on in the week.
I'm a Toyota Tech and I haven't seen any kind of issues in my region, not saying they don't exist I just haven't experienced it. I hope it's a proper fix and not some kind of hack. Hopefully Hyundai issues a TSB with proper remediation soon.

PS- Let me know how the Limited is when you get it!

·
Registered
65 Posts

·
Registered
477 Posts
My Tahoe has this problem. Water is retained inside the door until you pull out the weatherstripping. Not sure how this problem can be resolved with the Sonata but keep us up to date!

·
Registered
2 Posts
I just purchased a 2020 Sonata and after a heavy rain the driver side rear door drains a large amount of water upon opening. None of the other doors do this, just wondering if anyone else had similar issues. Plan on taking it into the dealership the first day I'm able.
There are small weep holes in the inside door panel below the weather strip. See if those got blocked. Also, the window bottom seal may be bad allowing excessive water to enter the door. Check to see if it's a good seal on the window.

·
Registered
80 Posts