Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The system worked perfectly for 2-1/2 years. Granted, the trunk never opened more than an inch or two at best on its own no matter how I initiated the unlatching, but the smart trunk sensor worked well and the trunk always unlatched after five beeps. Six months ago, though, it started to malfunction. After initially unlatching itself, it continued the 5xbeep+unlatch cycle while I loaded or unloaded the trunk. Over and over it would do this, as if it didn't sense that it was already open. I took it in for service at the dealership a couple months ago - - and they blamed it on me! They said that by occasionally pressing the pad under the logo to open it manually while it was beeping was "confusing" it, and that if I didn't want to wait for the five beeps I needed to use the key fob button to pop it sooner. ???? Ummmm..... no. I'm no car mechanic, but that's not the problem.

Further evidence: I put their suggestion to the test over the following few weeks, and found that even when I used the key fob to pop it, it would continue to beep and try to re-unlatch itself for as long as the key was in close proximity. They ignored my comment that, about the same time this problem started, the trunk light stopped working. I tested the bulb; it's fine. Coincidence? I don't know - but they didn't fix that, either.