Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I hope I'm posting this in the right place. I'm still heavily using the search function as well.

I just bought a 2015 Elantra Limited, and the headlights (daylamp, low and probably high beam, and fogs) are kind of an ugly yellow color compared to the led-looking part of the headlight (cool white illuminated bar that wraps around).

I'm a total noob here trying to make this look better.

I guess what I want to do is replace the yellow lights with lights that are a much cooler white color so that they don't clash with the led-looking part of it.

Which bulbs types should I be looking to purchase and are there tutorials on how to change them online? I'm using my google-fu to get what information I can, and any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
3,563 Posts
I went with this style LED

I've updated the fogs to match now, the first ones I bought (different style) were too blue for me.

Good beam pattern with the projectors and plug and play.

·
Registered
941 Posts
I tried the same LED's as solman98 in my aftermarket headlight projectors and had seemingly very different results.. the LED output was junk and was much dimmer than the stock halogen headlights.

I was excited to try them but they failed me... so my suggestion is to go with an HID kit. 5500K color.

·
Retired Staff
11,817 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Standard headlight bulbs are at a color temperature around 3000K so they have a yellowish look. If you want a whiter look find bulbs with a higher color temperature around 4000K+ like Silverstar ZXE, Philips Crystalvision Ultra, PIAA Extreme White. Be careful though because if you go too high you will end up with blue tinted bulbs. There are also various options of LED and HID you can use.