Hyundai Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new at this so forgive me if I have posted in the wrong slot!
I purchased new rear brake disks for my wife's 2014 AWD Tucson. The disks came with a large hole in the center and I assumed they will just slip off the hub after some coaxing and removal of the brake caliper hardware. However, on looking at my hub, it appears that you have to remove the axle nut to get the brake disk off. It looks like the disk is actually welded to the hub. My manual and any pictures I have found do not say that the axle nut has to be removed. Can anyone enlighten me on this? Does one have to remove the axle nut?
Thanks in advance,
Hugh

·
Registered
2007 Honda CRV
4,597 Posts
Very few vehicles need the axle nut removed to get the rotor off
And almost all cars that I know about do not need to do this.
Tucson being almost like a truck ....

If you live in the rust belt and never had your rotors serviced before
Then it can be quite challenging to remove the rotors from the hub
I tried hammer mine out .. didn't work
Then I saw on youtube where you can use the point where the caliper bracket screws in to put bolts there
With some spacers, it is possible to force the rotor off the hub
Just remember that if you decide to just keep hitting the rotors til they come off
You have the possibility of damaging the hub or wheel bearing ... just a thought

Good luck

·
Registered
95 Posts
Did you remove the set screws that are holding the rotor on? You should almost never have to deal with an axle nut when removing a brake disc.

I have dealt with rotors seized to wheel hubs before, but it was nothing a heavy hammer and a cold beer couldn't handle :)

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·