Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I'm new to the froum and recently picked up a 2013 Sonata gls. The dealer installed a Hyundai remote start before we took delivery. My question is this. After I start the car with the remote and get in to travel, the brake does not cancel the remote start. The dealer told me there was a recall on the brake switch a few monts back and the new switch is not compatiable with the remote start system. They told me the remote start will shut down after 15 minutes of drive time, which it does. If I drive the car for less then 15 minutes though, I have to use the remote to shut it off. Does this seem strange to you?

Thanks

Kevin

·
Hyundai-Forums.com Vendor
369 Posts
YES! That is BS and ALSO UNSAFE AND PROBABLY ILLEGAL. Well, maybe not illegal, but a car needs a shut off that is safer than grabbing your keychain and pressing a button. Also, the new brake switch is not uncompatible with the Remote Start as....it is just a switch, same as the old switch, just a switch.

Kevin, not only are they feeding you BS (the tech just doesn't know how to do it or is being lazy) but it's pretty unsafe to not be able to turn your key off to shut down the car if you wanted to.

·
Premium Member
1,284 Posts
Be sure it is not an aftermarket system they installed. What does your remote look like? (the one used to remote start the vehicle)

·
Registered
622 Posts