Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
My wife has a 2010 Hyundai Santa Fe with a 3.5 Lambda V6 engine which has an intermittent battery charging system failure and I am hoping to gain some insight into the cause of failure.
First off, I am an electrical engineer so I know my way around a DMM/Oscilloscope/etc.
The alternator, battery, and battery current sensor (it has the so-called "smart" battery management system) have all been replaced but there has been no change (the problem stays the same).
What happens is that, if I disconnect the battery (which restores the default values in the ECM) and wait 10 minutes and then reconnect the battery the changing system will work for 2 days up to 1 week with no issues (the battery charging voltage is right around 14.4VDC) however, during the period that the alternator/charging system is working, I do not see any signs that the smart battery management system is active (the battery voltage always stays right around 14.4VDC and never drops to around 12.6V like it is supposed to when accelerating).
As I previously mention, when the charging system fails, the only way to restore it is to disconnect the battery and then reconnect it after 10 minutes or so (I think this may be a big clue to what is going on).
Also, when the battery charging system fails, the "ALTERNATOR/BATTERY DISCHARGE" LED does NOT turn on like it is supposed to (although it does turn on when the key is in the "ON" position).
It is as if the ECM is gating bad data possibly from the battery current sensor which it interprets as the battery is fully charged (or overcharged) so it shuts down alternator.