Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
689 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone here had the oil pump clog up causing bearing failure. This is the same thing that the newer Theta II GDI are having a recall. But, we're S.O.L. I think we should all file a complaint on safercar.gov and force them to do the recall or reimbursement on the older Theta I and II motors. I had it happen at 125K miles even though I changed the oil every 3K miles. Very disappointing.

·
Registered
88 Posts
I'm not a mechanic, but before a clog-up case there should had been some oil pressure light or some kinda error. It's not just a sudden moment. At least I think so.
I always inspect the draint oil for particles or dirt. Never found any of it.
Every 3k miles is to soon, waste of oil. I change at 10k kms. (6-7k miles )
BTW, sorry to hear, you have this problem.

·
Senior Menmber
2,134 Posts
Anyone here had the oil pump clog up causing bearing failure. This is the same thing that the newer Theta II GDI are having a recall.
Sorry your engine was trashed. However, 2011-2012 2.4L & 2.0T Sonata engines in the recall have spun rod bearings because a manufacturing process on the rod bearings left metal particles in the engine that plugged up the bearing lubrication ports. That faulty manufacturing process was not related to your engine.

But, it is concerning that your oil pump was clogged. Have you or your mechanic been able to determine the composition of the clog and/or what caused it?

·
Registered
689 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
There was no sign of anything wrong. Oil drained clean every 3K miles. Then at 125K it just started knocking. Pulled oil pan found metal pieces in oil, damage to #2 bearing, rod and crank. Checked oil pump nothing squirting out of the #2 jet, looked into it and metal pieces inside. How the heck can the oil pump jet get clogged with metal pieces when I changed the oil every 3K miles. Has to be a defect, but it was past the 100K warranty so I was S.O.L.

·