Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm wondering if doing a good ol' Italian tuneup might be worthwhile for my 2004 2.7L. I've been throwing a P0420 code for a few years now, and now I can't even clear it without it coming back very soon. I have a bad/clogged cat according to the shop. My fuel economy is poor. I want to trade it in/sell it in a few months so I'm thinking about throwing some premium gas and fuel injector cleaner in and taking her out for the tune-up. I'll clear the codes, get her warmed up, WOT it to redline, shift, WOT to redline, repeat. I'll do this a few times up and down the highway to see if I can't clear some gunk out of my cat and keep my codes clear. My resale value is shot if I can't fix this issue. Anyone have any experience with this? Problems? Tips? Thanks.

·
Registered
206 Posts
Hey guys, I'm wondering if doing a good ol' Italian tuneup might be worthwhile for my 2004 2.7L. I've been throwing a P0420 code for a few years now, and now I can't even clear it without it coming back very soon. I have a bad/clogged cat according to the shop. My fuel economy is poor. I want to trade it in/sell it in a few months so I'm thinking about throwing some premium gas and fuel injector cleaner in and taking her out for the tune-up. I'll clear the codes, get her warmed up, WOT it to redline, shift, WOT to redline, repeat. I'll do this a few times up and down the highway to see if I can't clear some gunk out of my cat and keep my codes clear. My resale value is shot if I can't fix this issue. Anyone have any experience with this? Problems? Tips? Thanks.[/QUOTE

Do you plan on keeping the car? The 2.7 is a great motor. I have 250K on my 05 Sportage.

Beating on it will not fix your cat issue. It is probably shot from a lack of ever tuning it up. Eastern catalytic makes a good aftermarket cat. If you change the cat, change the upstream O2s as well. NTK only.

Bad mileage? How bad in actual MPGs?