Hyundai Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello folks,

I am new to the site and am needing your expertise on a quite puzzling noise coming from the drive train. I am a diesel/heavy equipment mechanic by trade so when I first heard this noise I automatically assumed it was a typical wheel bearing as it was a deep growling noise from barely rolling to high speed at 80mph. The car has 230k on it so I changed both front wheel bearings. No problem, easy job in my shop about 2 hours. Dropped it down off the lift, hit the road and the exact same sound. Looked at A-arm bushings thinking of telegraphing through the frame/body but they look good. It's not brakes and it does not change when you let off like a CV axles would do. Their appears to be a carrier bearing on the right axle shaft, could this be it? It felt tight with no slack. Could a differential bearing be going out in the automatic transmission? No fluids leaking around the seals. Any ideas?

·
Registered
3,151 Posts
sounds like you have a nice shop. i'm a little jealous :p

since you have a lift....hate to suggest this for safety reasons...but could you run the vehicle in gear on the lift and see if it will make the noise? that way you may be able to isolate the source of the noise with a stethoscope.

if bearings are good and CV joints are good (i'd trust your judgement there being a mechanic), transmission is really the only option left. if you get no noise on the lift, i'd be checking the bushings.

another option is the strut mount. the rubber can break away from the metal and cause a good vibration. same goes for engine mounts.

with any bearings, you'd usually hear a howl more than a growling noise. also for differential bearings, the tone of the noise should change as you accelerate or let off the gas. transmission bearing can change with regards to engine RPM depending on which one it is.