Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone.
I'm new to the page, thought I'd share some pics. I found a great deal on these wheels when a young man put new aftermarket ones on his new turbo Elantra right away. I'm happy with the look, I think it works well with the white and dark windows.

·
Registered
234 Posts
Welcome! Very nice! The more I see white Sonata’s with dark windows the more I need to tint the windows on mine...

·
Registered
1,203 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I like the design / look of the wheels but the overall size is small for your Sonata and will throw off your speedometer and possibly other performance because it is not giving accurate wheel speed to distance covered information to the car. It also contributes to the increased wheel to fender gap. It could also affect your ABS and traction control.

If those are stock Elantra Sport tires they are 225/40/18 and are a diameter of 25.1". Stock Sonata Sport 2.0T are 235/45/18 diameter of 26.4" the Sport 2.4L are 215/55/17 with diameter of 26.3" and the SEL are 205/65/16 with diameter of 26.5". So you can see the Sonata is set up to run overall tire diameters of about 26.3-26.6" (and the speedometers are 1-2 mph off).

You nay pickup a little in the acceleration because you are basically running a different gear ratio but you will also loose gas mileage if driving at the same speed because you will have to run a higher RPM to make the same speed.

You may want to consider changing tires on those wheels to either a 235/45/18 or if they are at least 7.5" wide wheels a 245/45/18 tire which completely corrects the speedometer error on all Sonatas with a diameter slightly larger of 26.7-26.8".

·
Registered
234 Posts
I like the design / look of the wheels but the overall size is small for your Sonata
Are you sure? His tires look pretty much like OEM 18" size (235/45R18) to me... Elantra Sport’s have a much smaller sidewall than that.

·
Registered