Hyundai Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I would like to install a wireless front-view camera and it needs a constant 12v source. The manual says I could connect to DRL. I'm an absolute newbie when it comes to car mods/repairs. Does anyone know of an easiest way to hook it up?

Thank you.

-A

·
Registered
10 Posts
there are a bunch of different connectors for the ODB plug under the steering wheel.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Curiosity got the best of me. I went out and measured the spare fuses.One of them is hot at all times, another goes hot when the ignition is ON.
See the attached pic for details.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Something I discovered while trying to take voltage measurements...the metal bracket holding the fuse box and OBDII connector...is not a good ground, It's bolted to plastic. I couldn't get any voltage reading while using the bracket as the ground terminal. It was only after I found a bolt that was attached to the body that I was able to get any measurements.
Keep this in mind when grounding your camera. While you can get your 12V constant from the fuse box, you can't take your ground from there.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Something I discovered while trying to take voltage measurements...the metal bracket holding the fuse box and OBDII connector...is not a good ground, It's bolted to plastic. I couldn't get any voltage reading while using the bracket as the ground terminal. It was only after I found a bolt that was attached to the body that I was able to get any measurements.
Keep this in mind when grounding your camera. While you can get your 12V constant from the fuse box, you can't take your ground from there.
This is very helpful. Thank you. What do you think would be the best way to attach the ground wire from the camera to something like this bolt you found or any other part of the body? Would I use something like an alligator clip?

·
Registered
37 Posts