Hyundai Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I would like to get some advise on this, this is my first Santa Fe and first time I have a car with so many miles (195000). I've noticed that even just by getting the oil cap off, it is pretty evident there is a LOT of "sludge" in there. I was going to buy something strong to try to clean it as much as possible without having to pay a mechanic to open that sucker up, I mean the car is not even worth 2k with that mileage so I wanna take care of it as much as possible within reason.

Anyways I was told is not a good idea unless I plan to remove the oil pan to clean it after the product has done its job. I've never done that so here are my questions:

1- Any advise on what product I can use?
2- Is removing the oil pan an easy enough job to do it myself?, I'm no mechanic but I'm not afraid to get dirty get bolts out and get it done.

Last one, any advise on any other way I can try to clean the engine as much as possible and hopefully as a DIY project?

·
Registered
92 Posts
Is the sludge causing any issue or is it just something you want to take care of?

Over the counter products you can use are things like Marvel Mystery Oil, Seafoam & B12 Chemtool. These products all work to varying degrees. B12 is the harshest of the bunch while MMO is a bit more gentle. Honestly though I wouldn't use any of these unless you have an HLA that is tapping or something along those lines.

What I would use is a product called Auto-Rx. I've used it personally with great results and have seen MANY other people across various forums have success with it as well. It is in a class by itself and is definitely more pricey. It is also available only online as far as I am aware: Auto-Rx Plus Non-Toxic Sludge Remover and Cleaner for Engines and Transmissions