Flashing Immob light - Hyundai Forums : Hyundai Forum
 7Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 05:00 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
mrhr33 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Flashing Immob light

Hi all,

I have a 2005 Getz 1.5L DOHC

Went to start it the other morning and no go....
Noticed the immob light flashing (5 times) then out.
Done my research and found a potential issue with the antenna coil around the ign coil.
Cut the plug off and solder the wires straight through.... No change in engine start
Grabbed another smartra box from a wreck, installed and still no go ( 5 flashes then out)....

Before i started i had a code P1690 Smartra fault... but this is not identified in the workshop manual?

Any ideas where to from here please? We are remote NT and cannot access a dealer, or even a mechanic for that matter

PR
mrhr33 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
grcauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Flint, MI USA
Posts: 4,194
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Quoted: 1012 Post(s)
grcauto is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrhr33 View Post
Hi all,

I have a 2005 Getz 1.5L DOHC

Went to start it the other morning and no go....
Noticed the immob light flashing (5 times) then out.
Done my research and found a potential issue with the antenna coil around the ign coil.
Cut the plug off and solder the wires straight through.... No change in engine start
Grabbed another smartra box from a wreck, installed and still no go ( 5 flashes then out)....

Before i started i had a code P1690 Smartra fault... but this is not identified in the workshop manual?

Any ideas where to from here please? We are remote NT and cannot access a dealer, or even a mechanic for that matter

PR
A scan tool is you friend.





Best practices for requesting help:If you haven't done so fill in your vehicle info and profile page. At upper right corner under the search box click on user cp (it's your control panel)
This info will show up to the left under your user name and is very helpful.
BE SURE TO ADD YOUR LOCATION SO WE KNOW WHAT MARKET YOU ARE IN.


  • Be sure you are in the correct forum for your vehicle.
  • Do a search for your problem. A lot of stuff has been asked and answered.
  • Do not double post for the same problem.
  • Give the model year....Engine size...transmission type (auto or standard)
  • Take a single issue at a time. Posting multiple issues at once will get convoluted very quickly
  • VIN number can be very helpful
  • Vehicle history can be good. How many miles. If not bought new, how many have you put on it.
  • Describe the problem best you can. If a noise can you get a sound or video file
  • Tell us what has been done, if anything, thus far. If tests have been performed give actual results not OK or passed. If scanned for codes the actual code(s) not O2 sensor or MAF, Etc.
  • If the vehicle has been to a repair facility it would be nice if you could post a picture of that invoice/bill
  • If your vehicle is under warranty you should have the dealer check it out. If it's a problem they see many times they will generate a safety recall of TSB. This is how they know of the problem.

This information can save a lot of time and get you the answers you need much faster.


Thanks,
Welcome aboard.
mrhr33 likes this.

Of all the things I ever lost I miss my mind the most.
Hey you're not getting any younger
.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
grcauto is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
AUTOSPARK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Scotland, UK.
Drives : Nissan NV200 Flies : Rans S6ES
Posts: 10,852
Mentioned: 111 Post(s)
Quoted: 2289 Post(s)
AUTOSPARK is an unknown quantity at this point
The 1690 code means there is a problem with the communications link between the SMARTRA and the engine PCM.

The first thing I would do is check the SMARTRA module power supply and ground (pinout shown below). It obviously can't talk to the PCM if it isn't being powered up.

The colours don't represent the colours of the car wiring.
Attached Images
File Type: png Forum_Image.png (196.6 KB, 9 views)
mrhr33 likes this.
AUTOSPARK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-26-2019, 04:32 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
mrhr33 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AUTOSPARK View Post
The 1690 code means there is a problem with the communications link between the SMARTRA and the engine PCM.

The first thing I would do is check the SMARTRA module power supply and ground (pinout shown below). It obviously can't talk to the PCM if it isn't being powered up.

The colours don't represent the colours of the car wiring.
Thanks, i will check.

Would you have a pin out of the ECM/PCM?
Maybe i can check continuity between the two after checking the above....

PR
mrhr33 is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-26-2019, 06:57 AM
Senior Member
 
AUTOSPARK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Scotland, UK.
Drives : Nissan NV200 Flies : Rans S6ES
Posts: 10,852
Mentioned: 111 Post(s)
Quoted: 2289 Post(s)
AUTOSPARK is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrhr33 View Post
Would you have a pin out of the ECM/PCM?
PCM connector pinout below. According to my info the immobilizer comms wire is on terminal 52.

ECU harness connector. Not the module this time
Attached Images
File Type: png Forum_Image.png (39.1 KB, 12 views)
mrhr33 likes this.
AUTOSPARK is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-26-2019, 08:14 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
mrhr33 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AUTOSPARK View Post
PCM connector pinout below. According to my info the immobilizer comms wire is on terminal 52.

ECU harness connector. Not the module this time
Thanks mate.

The scan tool said i was not getting key learnt within the immob circuit-
*1st issue was a bad Main relay (under bonnet), when i connected power to it, all contacts had continuity- replaced it with another i had, now good.
I now have key learnt on scan tool and the immob symbol on the dash has stopped flashing and stays on solid.

Engine still cranking- no start
re scanning the system and no fault codes?

Scan tool shows live data-
Fuel pump on when cranking
Crankshaft position sensor on when cranking

Anyone think of anything else please?

PR
mrhr33 is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-26-2019, 09:42 PM
Senior Member
 
grcauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Flint, MI USA
Posts: 4,194
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Quoted: 1012 Post(s)
grcauto is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrhr33 View Post
Thanks mate.

The scan tool said i was not getting key learnt within the immob circuit-
*1st issue was a bad Main relay (under bonnet), when i connected power to it, all contacts had continuity- replaced it with another i had, now good.
I now have key learnt on scan tool and the immob symbol on the dash has stopped flashing and stays on solid.

Engine still cranking- no start
re scanning the system and no fault codes?

Scan tool shows live data-
Fuel pump on when cranking
Crankshaft position sensor on when cranking

Anyone think of anything else please?

PR
Try starting using alternative fuel source. Carb cleaner etc.
mrhr33 likes this.

Of all the things I ever lost I miss my mind the most.
Hey you're not getting any younger
.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
grcauto is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-27-2019, 01:16 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
mrhr33 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by grcauto View Post
Try starting using alternative fuel source. Carb cleaner etc.
Yep it runs on fumes, then stops once you stop spraying....
mrhr33 is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-27-2019, 01:52 AM
Senior Member
 
AUTOSPARK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Scotland, UK.
Drives : Nissan NV200 Flies : Rans S6ES
Posts: 10,852
Mentioned: 111 Post(s)
Quoted: 2289 Post(s)
AUTOSPARK is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrhr33 View Post
*1st issue was a bad Main relay (under bonnet)
If the main relay was bad there would be no power supplied to the SMARTRA. There wouldn't be any power supplied to the PCM either though, which means your scan tool wouldn't communicate with it to read the code.

Anyway, glad you've now got a good key status.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrhr33 View Post
Yep it runs on fumes, then stops once you stop spraying....
Your new problem appears to be with the fuel supply to the engine in that case. The scan tool says the PCM is switching the pump on but have you actually checked that it is running? The first thing I would do is check there is power being supplied to the fuel pump check terminal DURING CRANK. It's located on the engine bay fusebox, marked F/P CHK on the inside of the lid.
mrhr33 likes this.
AUTOSPARK is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-27-2019, 02:38 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
mrhr33 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AUTOSPARK View Post
If the main relay was bad there would be no power supplied to the SMARTRA. There wouldn't be any power supplied to the PCM either though, which means your scan tool wouldn't communicate with it to read the code.

Anyway, glad you've now got a good key status.


Your new problem appears to be with the fuel supply to the engine in that case. The scan tool says the PCM is switching the pump on but have you actually checked that it is running? The first thing I would do is check there is power being supplied to the fuel pump check terminal DURING CRANK. It's located on the engine bay fusebox, marked F/P CHK on the inside of the lid.
Yes it has power when cranking (battery equivalent).
I then checked power at the in tank pump- ok
I pulled the pump out and powered it to compare with another i have here- it seemed lazy / slower than the other one.
I have installed the second hand one now, and i can here it running when i crank now....

Still no start!
mrhr33 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Hyundai Forums : Hyundai Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome