Hyundai Getz 2009 radio LCD just says HYUNDAI - Hyundai Forums : Hyundai Forum
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-04-2018, 02:29 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
antoniecmalan is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Smile Hyundai Getz 2009 radio LCD just says HYUNDAI

Hyundai Getz 2009 radio LCD just says HYUNDAI when switching on and stays like that. I've removed to fuse to reset the thing but it's still the same. Looks like the thing doesn't even know the fuse was removed although the clock and radio LCD were dead on switching on with the fuse removed. Any ideas?
antoniecmalan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-04-2018, 02:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Old's Cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Loco Boy Makes Good
2005 Scion tC; 1988 Toyota Supra; 2009 Hyundai Accent Wheezer 1.6; 96 Subaru Outback (soon)
Posts: 13,266
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Quoted: 3747 Post(s)
Old's Cool is an unknown quantity at this point
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by antoniecmalan View Post
Hyundai Getz 2009 radio LCD just says HYUNDAI when switching on and stays like that. I've removed to fuse to reset the thing but it's still the same. Looks like the thing doesn't even know the fuse was removed although the clock and radio LCD were dead on switching on with the fuse removed. Any ideas?



How long? Should be at least 30 seconds, more likely a minute. Also there are two fuses, one for the Power and one for the "hold up" that maintains station entries and settings. You have to remove this one, too, tho on the Getz I don't know where it would be. Maybe @AUTOSPARK could help you out...

Do you know any satisfying profanity?!


It's all fun and games until someone loses his mind-Fred C. Dobbs

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<<click...

2009 Accent Hatch
I find it works well enough to get me from one planet to another.

Old's Cool is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-04-2018, 02:44 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
antoniecmalan is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Smile That was quick

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old's Cool View Post
How long? Should be at least 30 seconds, more likely a minute. Also there are two fuses, one for the Power and one for the "hold up" that maintains station entries and settings. You have to remove this one, too, tho on the Getz I don't know where it would be.
I'm an oldy, too. 67 and not getting any younger. It was much more than a minute. I'll go hunting for the 'hold up' fuse now. Thanks for the help.
antoniecmalan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-04-2018, 04:20 AM
Senior Member
 
AUTOSPARK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Scotland, UK.
Drives : Nissan NV200 Flies : Rans S6ES
Posts: 11,062
Mentioned: 113 Post(s)
Quoted: 2338 Post(s)
AUTOSPARK is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by antoniecmalan View Post
I'll go hunting for the 'hold up' fuse now.
The 'hold up' fuse (AKA memory or transport fuse) is the one in the yellow carrier on the dashboard fusebox. Pull the carrier towards you will disconnect the fuse. Once the memory has been erased, push the carrier back in towards the fusebox, which will reconnect the fuse.

Your radio might be waiting for you to enter the security code. Have you tried pressing any of the preset buttons to see if that changes what's shown on the display?
AUTOSPARK is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-04-2018, 05:04 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
antoniecmalan is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Again, a quick reply

Quote:
Originally Posted by AUTOSPARK View Post
The 'hold up' fuse (AKA memory or transport fuse) is the one in the yellow carrier on the dashboard fusebox. Pull the carrier towards you will disconnect the fuse. Once the memory has been erased, push the carrier back in towards the fusebox, which will reconnect the fuse.

Your radio might be waiting for you to enter the security code. Have you tried pressing any of the preset buttons to see if that changes what's shown on the display?
Thanks for this. Trying to enter the security code does nothing. This happened after coming from the archery club this afternoon. The last bit off the tar-sealed road is very washed out, but I always take it very slowly.



Please see the attached two photos. Is the 'yellow carrier' the wide yellow thing at the lower left end of the fuse box? On the lid it's marked as a 15Amp fuse labelled Power Conn & R/LP.



BTW, the radio still swallows a CD but does not play it. It also ejects it and the LCD then says something like eject. It does not seem irrevocably broken.


Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fuse-box.jpg (108.0 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg fuse-box-lid.jpg (104.1 KB, 6 views)

Last edited by antoniecmalan; 11-04-2018 at 05:08 AM.
antoniecmalan is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-04-2018, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
 
AUTOSPARK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Scotland, UK.
Drives : Nissan NV200 Flies : Rans S6ES
Posts: 11,062
Mentioned: 113 Post(s)
Quoted: 2338 Post(s)
AUTOSPARK is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by antoniecmalan View Post
Is the 'yellow carrier' the wide yellow thing at the lower left end of the fuse box?
Yes, that's it. The fuse in that carrier powers the interior lights, that's what R/LP means (Room Lamp) but it also powers the memory for the radio and the clock.

When the car comes to the dealership from the factory that yellow carrier is pulled out so that if a door is left ajar the interior lamp wont drain the battery. It's pushed in by the dealership technician when he does the pre-delivery inspection on the car.
AUTOSPARK is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-04-2018, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Old's Cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Loco Boy Makes Good
2005 Scion tC; 1988 Toyota Supra; 2009 Hyundai Accent Wheezer 1.6; 96 Subaru Outback (soon)
Posts: 13,266
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Quoted: 3747 Post(s)
Old's Cool is an unknown quantity at this point
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by antoniecmalan View Post
Thanks for this. Trying to enter the security code does nothing. This happened after coming from the archery club this afternoon. The last bit off the tar-sealed road is very washed out, but I always take it very slowly.



Please see the attached two photos. Is the 'yellow carrier' the wide yellow thing at the lower left end of the fuse box? On the lid it's marked as a 15Amp fuse labelled Power Conn & R/LP.



BTW, the radio still swallows a CD but does not play it. It also ejects it and the LCD then says something like eject. It does not seem irrevocably broken.


Thanks.

You want to pull two at once. According to your fuse panel legend, you want to pull the one in the yellow carrier, and also the 15A one in the topmost right spot labeled "Audio". Pulling both of these should completely reset the radio. You would think, with the key OFF, the 15A fuse would have any effect, but stranger things have happened!



ALso, check and see if the radio itself has a RESET somewhere. It's usually a little pinhole generally located near the CD slot on most car radios. In some cases it is on the back. With both fuses pulled, take a paper clip or needle, etc and press and hold the reset for about 1 minute. Then plug the fuses back in and we'll see what happens!


Good luck.

Do you know any satisfying profanity?!


It's all fun and games until someone loses his mind-Fred C. Dobbs

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<<click...

2009 Accent Hatch
I find it works well enough to get me from one planet to another.

Old's Cool is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-04-2018, 10:28 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
antoniecmalan is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Smile Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old's Cool View Post
You want to pull two at once. According to your fuse panel legend, you want to pull the one in the yellow carrier, and also the 15A one in the topmost right spot labeled "Audio". Pulling both of these should completely reset the radio. You would think, with the key OFF, the 15A fuse would have any effect, but stranger things have happened!



ALso, check and see if the radio itself has a RESET somewhere. It's usually a little pinhole generally located near the CD slot on most car radios. In some cases it is on the back. With both fuses pulled, take a paper clip or needle, etc and press and hold the reset for about 1 minute. Then plug the fuses back in and we'll see what happens!


Good luck.
Hi Old Cool,
Did that and the LCD came up blank. Then I noticed the reset button just below the clock. Pushed that and it asked for the code. Entered that and all was hunky dory. Set up only one FM station - the classical one.

You want colourful invective. Try calling someone a scrofulous poltroon. Scrofulous may refer either to the disease, scrofula, or to a pig - sus scrofa. You will be calling your adversary a coward and a pig.

Thanks again.
Old's Cool likes this.
antoniecmalan is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-06-2018, 01:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Old's Cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Loco Boy Makes Good
2005 Scion tC; 1988 Toyota Supra; 2009 Hyundai Accent Wheezer 1.6; 96 Subaru Outback (soon)
Posts: 13,266
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Quoted: 3747 Post(s)
Old's Cool is an unknown quantity at this point
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by antoniecmalan View Post
Hi Old Cool,
Did that and the LCD came up blank. Then I noticed the reset button just below the clock. Pushed that and it asked for the code. Entered that and all was hunky dory. Set up only one FM station - the classical one.

You want colourful invective. Try calling someone a scrofulous poltroon. Scrofulous may refer either to the disease, scrofula, or to a pig - sus scrofa. You will be calling your adversary a coward and a pig.

Thanks again.

I'm sitting here laughing my @$$ off! I know what a poltroon is, but Scrofulous...thank you!


I usually use scurrilous, myself.



Glad your radio came back!

Do you know any satisfying profanity?!


It's all fun and games until someone loses his mind-Fred C. Dobbs

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<<click...

2009 Accent Hatch
I find it works well enough to get me from one planet to another.

Old's Cool is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-06-2018, 01:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Old's Cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Loco Boy Makes Good
2005 Scion tC; 1988 Toyota Supra; 2009 Hyundai Accent Wheezer 1.6; 96 Subaru Outback (soon)
Posts: 13,266
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Quoted: 3747 Post(s)
Old's Cool is an unknown quantity at this point
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by antoniecmalan View Post
Hi Old Cool,
Did that and the LCD came up blank. Then I noticed the reset button just below the clock. Pushed that and it asked for the code. Entered that and all was hunky dory. Set up only one FM station - the classical one.

You want colourful invective. Try calling someone a scrofulous poltroon. Scrofulous may refer either to the disease, scrofula, or to a pig - sus scrofa. You will be calling your adversary a coward and a pig.

Thanks again.

PS: I always considered myself a cunning linguist, but I believe I have been bested!

Do you know any satisfying profanity?!


It's all fun and games until someone loses his mind-Fred C. Dobbs

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<<click...

2009 Accent Hatch
I find it works well enough to get me from one planet to another.

Old's Cool is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Hyundai Forums : Hyundai Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome