Reset Ecu On Getz - Hyundai Forums : Hyundai Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
#1 Old 05-23-2008, 02:19 AM
Junior Member
 
ahnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ahnah
(Thread Starter)
What is the easiest and yet recommended method for resetting the 1.4Auto Getz ?
ahnah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 05-23-2008, 03:48 AM
Junior Member
 
oliver1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
oliver1982
Quote:
Originally posted by ahnah@May 23 2008, 04:19 PM
[b]What is the easiest and yet recommended method for resetting the 1.4Auto Getz ?
[snapback]163282[/snapback]
I did this before when I had issues (although it turned out to be ignition leads).

It was very easy but I can't comment if it's the best way to do it...I just saw it on the net somewhere. I don't know much.

Open the bonnet and look towards the "top right", there's a black box which I think says FUSES on it or something like that. Open the box by unclipping it and remove one of the little things in there (I think it is either red or yellow). Check your instruction manual to find the right one to remove (in the specifications section there is a diagram of the fuse box).

Anyway, take it out and replace it after a few minutes (can't remember how long so give it 30 mins just to be safe).

If you are missing your instruction manual then let me know and I'll have a look in mine. I can't be bothered right now as it's too cold lol
oliver1982 is offline  
#3 Old 05-23-2008, 01:03 PM
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Montego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South East England
Drives 2 XG's (2001 & 2002) & Ford Escort Van
Posts: 12,474
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Montego has disabled reputation
Garage
just remove the battery ground cable for a few mins.



MONTEGO

""""""""""""""""""""""""



Montego is offline  
#4 Old 05-26-2008, 02:02 AM
Junior Member
 
ahnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ahnah
(Thread Starter)
both negative and positive battery ?

any other method ?

how abt take out the ECU fuse ?
ahnah is offline  
#5 Old 05-26-2008, 04:39 AM
Junior Member
 
oliver1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
oliver1982
Quote:
Originally posted by ahnah@May 26 2008, 04:02 PM
[b]both negative and positive battery ?

any other method ?

how abt take out the ECU fuse ?
[snapback]163961[/snapback]
Either way will work...but you will have to reprogram your stereo settings if you disconnect the battery though, but no big deal.

Not sure if you take off both the positive and the negative. I would though...not going to do any harm, so why not?
oliver1982 is offline  
#6 Old 05-26-2008, 04:43 AM
Junior Member
 
ahnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ahnah
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally posted by oliver1982@May 26 2008, 04:39 PM
[b]Either way will work...but you will have to reprogram your stereo settings if you disconnect the battery though, but no big deal.

Not sure if you take off both the positive and the negative.* I would though...not going to do any harm, so why not?
[snapback]163979[/snapback]
memory from headunit will lose ? ?

then I better dun touch the battery ...

anyway to reset ECU without affect the HU and stereo settings ?
ahnah is offline  
#7 Old 05-27-2008, 02:46 AM
Junior Member
 
oliver1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
oliver1982
Quote:
Originally posted by ahnah@May 26 2008, 06:43 PM
[b]memory from headunit will lose ? ?

then I better dun touch the battery ...

anyway to reset ECU without affect the HU and stereo settings ?
[snapback]163980[/snapback]
Just take the fuse out (see my first reply)
oliver1982 is offline  
#8 Old 06-01-2009, 03:27 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
francarl
Anything written above will work since all of them remove the supply to the ECU. Where is the ECU of the Getz? I could not find it...
francarl is offline  
#9 Old 06-02-2009, 04:52 AM
Member
 
blackbullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
blackbullet
Yeap, pull out the ECU fuse and wait around 30min before putting it back in...


Straights are for FAST CARS
Corners are for FAST DRIVERS
blackbullet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hyundai Forums : Hyundai Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome