4 wheel low - Page 2 - Hyundai Forums : Hyundai Forum

Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery Garage Members List Calendar Auto Loans Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Hyundai-Forums.com is the premier Hyundai Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2012, 09:28 AM   #11 (permalink)
MODERATOR
 
RBURGOSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Costa Rica
Drives Terracan CRDi (2004) and Getz 3dr 1.6 sport (2008)
Posts: 1,462
RBURGOSS is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Willem Winch View Post
wrt the CADS: there is an easy, but very effective remedy to overcome the flaws of the genuine setup: Terracan CADS Control

the modification allows to engage the CADS isolated from the transfer case.... like manual hubs...when I go off road I can engage the CADS without risking wind up of the drive train (the flashing LED indicates that the CADS is really engaged)...then when I really need 4WD I just have to switch the 4WD knob for the transfer case ... no waiting anymore and I could even engage 4WD when already bogged ...

Thanks a lot. That is very valuable information, even if someone does not want to go ahead with the modifications, but knowing you have to engage 4WD before getting bogged or stuck, it may just save the day for many of us.
__________________
Robert B.

Don't forget to participate and vote in the February 2013 ROTM thread at http://www.hyundai-forums.com/249-ri...2013-rotm.html
RBURGOSS is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-06-2012, 05:35 AM   #12 (permalink)
Member
 
Willem Winch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Illawara/NSW/Australia
Drives Terracan CRDi, i30
Posts: 98
Willem Winch is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

...well, I also learned it the hard way ... got bogged on Frazer Island in 2WD .... switched into 4WD and wondered that my front wheels were not spinning ....... made me thinking ...

Note: this mod is only for the basic version - the Highlander version with the AWD system has no CADS and is a total different animal...
Willem Winch is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2012, 02:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: mansfield
drives terrican
Posts: 12
smigie is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

hi all thanks for all the replies had a full service done last week at my local garage.All oils and cam belts found out there was only half the oil there should have been in the transfere box. topod everything up to correct levels.And now every thing ok with 4 wheel low.
smigie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2012, 06:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
MODERATOR
 
RBURGOSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Costa Rica
Drives Terracan CRDi (2004) and Getz 3dr 1.6 sport (2008)
Posts: 1,462
RBURGOSS is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smigie View Post
hi all thanks for all the replies had a full service done last week at my local garage.All oils and cam belts found out there was only half the oil there should have been in the transfere box. topod everything up to correct levels.And now every thing ok with 4 wheel low.

That is very interesting, since the service schedule says nothing about the transfer case oil (when to change), and since its changing or level checking if a bit difficult, many people (including me) never check it even at regular engine oil changes.

I'll have this in mind for my next service and have the transfer case fluid checked.
__________________
Robert B.

Don't forget to participate and vote in the February 2013 ROTM thread at http://www.hyundai-forums.com/249-ri...2013-rotm.html
RBURGOSS is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2012, 08:00 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: mansfield
drives terrican
Posts: 12
smigie is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

was told there had probably never been enough oil in from new as there was a rust line all round inside of transfere box.
smigie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hyundai Forums : Hyundai Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Random Question


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:28 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.